Simon Keller the Faces of Tucson AZ

Simon Keller

I am married and have four great kids. We have two dogs and love the outdoors, travel, and adventures. We hike, mountain bike, golf, snowboard, and travel every chance we get. We travel with friends, so it is always a big crowd. We have a lot of close family in Tucson so most of our time is family time.

I try to dedicate time to giving back and I am currently working on getting Veterans to donate time to Habitat for humanity for their next Veteran build. I love playing guitar and music in general.

I have been coaching youth lacrosse in Tucson for 15 years. It has been a passion of mine to give back to the sport that gave me so much in my youth and I want the next generations to have that connection to the oldest sport in America. So many kids don’t have the opportunity to grow in a team sport that it encourages me to make the sport accessible to all kids regardless of income level or support.

I want kids to love exercise, working out, team camaraderie, and sportsmanship into their adulthood. A team is like a family, you might not always get along, but we are all in it together working towards the same goal. There is much to be learned from being on a team.

My wife and I have developed a girl’s program to give more girls the opportunity to play and it has been great to see brothers and sisters both playing lacrosse! It is especially rewarding to see former players and have them tell me how much fun they had playing for the team and how they are still friends with the kids they played with on the team.

Q: Please tell us a little bit about your family.
I am married with four wonderful kids from young adult to middle school

Q: Please tell us about your current, past, or future career. What do you love most about what you do?
I am in law enforcement and I love being in a position to help people. I am close to retiring and working on becoming a Veteran support representative so I can help Veterans get the help they deserve

Q: What are a couple of your favorite restaurants in our community?
Four Season Thai Food is an amazing, family-owned restaurant and Trident has the best burger in town. Sausage Deli for the Omar is always a great day.

Q: How long have you lived or worked in our community?
I have worked in Tucson for 21 years

Q: Who is the most interesting person you’ve met here in our community?
My wife of 15 years is the most amazing person, friend and more fun than anyone! We met right here at PIMA community college

Q: If you could travel anywhere in the world right now, where would it be and why?
Literally everywhere- spent my middle school years in Panama and have a love of travel and learning from other cultures. We are currently waiting to go to Italy when the pandemic subsides

Q: What is one of your favorite movies? TV shows?
Bar Rescue- John Taffer is amazing at reading people and properly motivating everyone. He gives back whole heartedly to Veterans and other community members

Q: What advice would you give to people?
Don’t waste a single day! No amount of money can get you back a day you wasted.

Q: What is something on your bucket list?
To ride my bike across the country. All four corners!

Q: What is your go to band when you cannot decide what to listen to?
I love it all from soul to rock and country. I never have a hard time deciding.

Q: What current or former local business makes you the most nostalgic about our community?
Sausage Deli. It was one of our first dates before we got married and my wife couldn’t wait for me to try the subs she ate at the U of A

Q: If you could choose anyone that is alive today and not a relative; with whom would you love to have lunch? Why? And where locally would y’all meet for this lunch?
John Taffer. He inspires me to work hard. I would let him pick the spot or give him a tour of our favorites

Q: What is your favorite thing or something unique about our community?
I love the mountain views, hiking and biking trails and the sunsets here are amazing

Q: Where do you see yourself in 5 to 10 years?
Retired from my first career and working on my second, coaching of course and able to spend more time with family and friends.

Q: (Even for friends or family), what is something interesting that most people don’t know about you?
I was struck with blood poisoning when I was a teen and almost lost my leg. I was told I may never walk again but made a near full recovery and was able to join the military after high school. I still have a limp from it but it reminds me of how lucky I am.

Q: What is the most beautiful place you have ever been?
Havasupai Falls is at the top of the list. So beautiful and right here in AZ

Q: Favorite month? favorite holiday? and best single day on the calendar?
Every day is a blessing, good and bad. We learn and grow from every experience.

Q: What would you rate a 10 out of 10?
My family

Q: Who inspires you to be better?
My wife and kids. We are very honest with each other and it helps you keep your balance.

Q: What is one or two of your favorite smells?
Coming home to a home cooked meal or the smell of pine on a bike ride or hike

Q: Finally, what 3 words or phrases come to mind when you think of the word HOME?
Family, Friends, and the pups